Blog

Holiday News

Bay Area folks:

Join me for a sweet signing of my illustrated children’s book — the e.e. cummings poem i carry your heart with me. In stock + signed in my shop too!When: November 29 at 1 pm
Where: Book Passage at the San Francisco Ferry Building
Who: You & your favorite kids (or kids at heart)

Mark your calendars!

 

What: Art + holiday cheer
When: December 14 from 1-5 pm
Where: Teahouse Studio

1250 Addison Street #208
Berkeley, CA 94702
Who: You, me, and all our festive friends

Here’s a sneak peak at my latest batch of abstracts.
Up for sale in my Big Cartel shop:


Can you believe it’s holiday giving time already?

My Etsy shop is stocked with extra magic this season.
All orders placed by December 15 are guaranteed to arrive by December 25.
*US orders only; no guaranteed arrival date for international orders

Wishing you all a happy Thanksgiving! 

Yours in gratitude,

Fumblers

10802479_469197736553873_1258229290_n

Manifesto:

Aligning myself with the fumblers.

Those who are truth tellers who don’t put a glossy sheen on it all. Instead shine deeply.

Own their beautiful brilliance as well as their fumbling.

I love beauty. I love beauty in the breakdown too. In the ebbs and flows and fallow moments.

I love abstract painting because you can see evidence of fumbling. Of exploration. Of curiosity. Of the not knowing what it’s going to look like.

Fumblers are honest about their trials and tribulations.

This doesn’t mean we don’t try as hard as we might to do our very best. Contrary… that’s where the fumbling takes place. But when someone asks how we’re are doing. We show up courageously and say how we feel. How it’s hard. We don’t have it all figured out yet. We’re falling in love with our life, again and again.

Shine on, fellow fumblers!

(Dedicated to my dear fumbler friend Kate WC)

Winner of LB 2015

Winner of the Life Book class is #33 Prerna whose daring act is below! I’ll be in touch with details. Congrats and Thank you everyone for entering!!! I was so inspired reading everyone’s daring acts. I hope you all join me and sign up for Life Book! 

 

  •  Prerna
    Posted September 26, 2014 at 1:17 pm | Permalink | Edit

    gold leafing. want to learn it for a long long time. this week I dared to put boundaries and ensured drama and negativity dint ever my life and sap me again. there are some people who are eternally negative. keeping them at bay so they don’t ruin your peaceful life is important. So I stood up for myself this week.

I also want to share my podcast with the fantastic Tiffany Han that just aired <3

Happy weekend!

 

ecourse bonanza!

Hi friends,

Is it just me or are there so many awesome ecourses out there right now? Two of my art friends Alena Hennessy and Jessica Swift wrote me about their courses and I’m totally signing up for both stat! Coincidentally, I feature interviews with both of them in MY painting ecourse: Daring Adventures in Paint available for instant access here!

Jessica’s Pattern Design Class starts next weekend! I’m so excited to learn more about creating Repeat patterns!
patterncamp-button5
Learn more about Pattern Camp here !

 

Alena Hennessy’s Co-Lab class looks amazing too! It’s a collaboration with photographer Susan Tuttle and Alena who is a mixed-media painter who came together to create: Paint, Paper & IPhoneography Magic! I’m excited to learn how to create dreamy iphone paintings + photos like students  below:


julia godden

cheryl greene

Aren’t those incredible?! To find out more info on CoLab Artistry click here! 

xoxo

 

Lifebook 2015

Hi friends,

I’ve been loving teaching lately in person and online! Below is a painting demo of mine showing how to use multiple techniques including gold + silver leafing! Which brings me to my next offering where I will share how to incorporate this fun medium into our paintings in this rad YEAR long painting class called LIFEBOOK.

Click here to view more details !!

10654991_264234653786581_1776160731_n

lb2015-halfad-finished-800

Life book 2015 is a YEAR-LONG online course featuring 26 different teachers with 26 different perspectives on the creative process. Life Book is packed with lessons, inspiration and a vibrant community of artists from all over the world.

I’m happy to be joined by art pals Flora Bowley, Jessica SwiftLynzee Lynx and Alena Hennessy to name a few!  If you are seeking a year long course of artistic discovery jam-packed with different rock star art teachers, Life Book may be the answer!

Registration for Life Book 2015 opens on October 6th and the course begins on January 1st, 2015.

I have the tremendous honor to give away 1 FREE SPOT!  To enter, leave a comment about something DARING you’ve done this week :)

I will pick a winner on October 3rd after the blog hop!

Click here to view more details !

header-bloghopyay

All the wonderful Life Book teachers are giving away spots on their blogs (see the schedule below), so check em out.

8th September 2014 – Tamara Laporte –  http://www.willowing.org/ 
9th September 2014 – Jane Davenport – http://janedavenport.com/
10th September 2014 – Joanne Sharpe – http://joannezsharpe.blogspot.co.uk/
11th September 2014 –  Jenny Lee Wentworth – http://jennyleewentworth.blogspot.co.uk/
12th September 2014 –  Violette Clark – http://www.violette.ca/
13th September 2014 –  Chris Zydel – http://creativejuicesarts.com/
14th September 2014 –  Danielle Donaldson – http://danielledonaldson.com/
15th September 2014 –  Effy Wild – http://effywild.com/
16th September 2014 –  Flora Bowley – http://braveintuitiveyou.com/
17th September 2014 –  Alisa Burke – http://alisaburke.blogspot.co.uk/
18th September 2014 –  Rachael Rice – http://rachaelrice.com/
19th September 2014 –  Jeanne Oliver – http://www.jeanneoliverdesigns.com/
20th September 2014 –  Andrea Gomoll – http://andrea-gomoll.de/
21st September 2014 –  Kristin van Valkenburgh – http://www.kristinvanvalkenburgh.com/
22nd September 2014 –  Jill K. Berry – http://jillberrydesign.com/
23rd September 2014 –  Alena Hennessy – http://www.alenahennessy.com/
24th September 2014 –  Juliette Crane – http://www.juliettecrane.com/
25th September 2014 –  Jenny Doh – http://blog.crescendoh.com/crescendoh/
26th September 2014 –  Mati Rose McDonough – http://www.matirose.com/
27th September 2014 –  Patti Ballard – http://www.pbsartstudio.com 
28th September 2014 –  Lynzee Lynx – http://lynzeelynx.com/
29th September 2014 –  Roben Marie Smith – http://www.robenmarie.com/
30th September 2014 –  Andrea Schroeder – http://www.creativedreamincubator.com/
1st October 2014 –  Lynn Whipple – http://www.lynnwhipple.com/
2nd October 2014 –  Donna Downey – http://www.donnadowney.com/

Click here to view more details !!